New to guitars from Georgia (U.S.)

Whitey B

Hello, Whitey here from middle Georgia. I'm no stranger to metal music but am new to playing guitar. Just bought an Epiphone Les Paul and Vox amp. I plan to put 10 guage strings on it( I think that's right ), and tune it to drop c. I am considering taking lessons for beginners at JamPlay.com as I am absolutely new to playing guitar. I want to learn metal rhythm and like bands such as Killswitch Engage and Amon Amarth. I am open to any suggestions or recommendations as I am completely new to guitars, thanks

String gauges and picks are a personal thing, you'll zero in on what you like after playing for a while. For drop C, try to find a set that goes from 10 or 11 to 54 or 56. If you have your guitar professionally set up in your preferred tuning, it'll save you some headaches down the road. Try new things, but put the time and effort into getting used to a setup or a technique before moving on. Make sure you stay relaxed and don't do anything that damages your wrists or elbows. Lessons will probably help a lot. Play to a metronome for at least part of your practice every time, and once you get comfortable with a song, record yourself. Good luck.