Jump to content

What Are You Listening To?

Recommended Posts

Quite a few new tracks recently released from some of my favourite commercial metal bands. 

The new Eluveitie song 'Ategnatos' is amazing and has completely regenerated my interest in the band which really waned over the last four or five years. A much clearer and more commercial production which I think works well for them. I'm always nervous about the line-up changes, but Chrigel Glanzmann is the Dani Filth of folk metal and just seems to keep finding quality musicians. 

The new tracks from Children of Bodom are fun but I'm not loving them like I did their last album 'I Worship Chaos' which had some heavy crunch. The new tunes are much softer and commercial. 

New Rotting Christ is again more commercial (what's going on?) but the production is brilliant if you like commercial metal. 

I've got Eluveitie on repeat at the moment. 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, FatherAlabaster said:

Altarage - The Approaching Roar

Saor - Forgotten Paths   ... @Requiem, looks like this has been released a few days early on Bandcamp

Darkthrone - Sardonic Wrath

Ah, excellent. I've resolved to buy the other Saor releases too at some point. From what I've heard of the new album it sort of confirms in my mind that Saor are one of the best projects in the world right now. 

Been playing some My Dying Bride albums lately, especially albums I haven't heard in a while: 

'A Line of Deathless Kings' - amazing album and much better than I usually give it credit for. The opening track is the weakest, all the others are (mostly) killer. 

'For Lies I Sire' - also really good. 

'A Map of All Our Failures' - doesn't do it for me. This and the EP track 'Barghest o' Whitby' (great title) just plod along for the most part with fairly uninspiring riffs. The riffs are often bland with no chill-down-the-neck factor.

What really lets this album down - and to a lesser degree 'Feel the Misery' - are Aaron's vocals. For some reason he's become quite whiney rather than the graceful croon of the past. His flow is also quite awkward, with an unbalanced number of syllables per line that are just forced in there. I also maintain there are too many lyrics in most of the songs and he needs to shoosh a bit so that the music can do its thing. It's weird that this is happening at this stage of his long and illustrious career. 

Let's hope the next album sees a bit more class and good decision-making from Aaron and the lads. 


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Join Metal Forum


  • Our picks

    • Whichever tier of thrash metal you consigned Sacred Reich back in the 80's/90's they still had their moments.  "Ignorance" & "Surf Nicaragura" did a great job of establishing the band, whereas "The American Way" just got a little to comfortable and accessible (the title track grates nowadays) for my ears.  A couple more records better left forgotten about and then nothing for twenty three years.  2019 alone has now seen three releases from Phil Rind and co.  A live EP, a split EP with Iron Reagan and now a full length.

      Notable addition to the ranks for the current throng of releases is former Machine Head sticksman, Dave McClean.  Love or hate Machine Head, McClean is a more than capable drummer and his presence here is felt from the off with the opening and title track kicking things off with some real gusto.  'Divide & Conquer' and 'Salvation' muddle along nicely, never quite reaching any quality that would make my balls tingle but comfortable enough.  The looming build to 'Manifest Reality' delivers a real punch when the song starts proper.  Frenzied riffs and drums with shots of lead work to hold the interest.

      There's a problem already though (I know, I am such a fucking mood hoover).  I don't like Phil's vocals.  I never had if I am being honest.  The aggression to them seems a little forced even when they are at their best on tracks like 'Manifest Reality'.  When he tries to sing it just feels weak though ('Salvation') and tracks lose real punch.  Give him a riffy number such as 'Killing Machine' and he is fine with the Reich engine (probably a poor choice of phrase) up in sixth gear.  For every thrashy riff there's a fair share of rock edged, local bar act rhythm aplenty too.

      Let's not poo-poo proceedings though, because overall I actually enjoy "Awakening".  It is stacked full of catchy riffs that are sticky on the old ears.  Whilst not as raw as perhaps the - brilliant - artwork suggests with its black and white, tattoo flash sheet style design it is enjoyable enough.  Yes, 'Death Valley' & 'Something to Believe' have no place here, saved only by Arnett and Radziwill's lead work but 'Revolution' is a fucking 80's thrash heyday throwback to the extent that if you turn the TV on during it you might catch a new episode of Cheers!

      • Reputation Points

      • 0 replies
    • I
      • Reputation Points

      • 1 reply
    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/52-vltimas-something-wicked-marches-in/
      • Reputation Points

      • 3 replies
    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/50-queensryche-the-verdict/
      • Reputation Points

      • 0 replies

    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/48-candlemass-the-door-to-doom/
      • Reputation Points

      • 1 reply