Harsh Vocals....

Motorthroat

Any tips on training my throat and voice for Harsh Vocals? I'd specifically like to train my voice to sound a bit like Brendon Small from Dethklok. So far I'm about halfway there. Also, anyone got any ideas on any other genres Harsh vocals can be used for apart from Death Metal?

Re: Harsh Vocals.... it's actually a really complicated thing at first, nobody really knows what they're being taught when they first start learning, but it's all about pushing air out from your diaphragm . . . but not the diaphragm that's just under your lungs, the diaphragm that's closer to your gut, not a lot of people know you have 2. you can do a little test to see if you're doing it right by putting your index finger and your middle finger over your throat, if it vibrates when you scream you're using too much lungs and not enough diaphragm, it's the same for clean vocals aswell

• 2 weeks later...

Re: Harsh Vocals.... Ive been training my voice for about 9 months, and Ill tell you, the dethklok voice is *NOT* a natural sound. there are a number of effects used on the voice, and it is layered. But, to get as close a sound as possible, try doing a regular scream while letting a bass note in with a sort of whisper sound in it. contract your throat, but not too much, as you dont want to hurt yourself! give it a few months before you get a good sound out of it, then you'll only improve.

Re: Harsh Vocals....