Jump to content
Sign in to stalk this  

Ruinous "Graves Of Ceaseless Death"

Recommended Posts

In the dirge of modern death metal with an ever increasing glut of "more" technical, "more" squally and "more" "old school" bands just crawling out of the woodwork like grubs wearing torn jeans and an old Possessed vest, it is nice on occasion to have the veterans of the genre step forward and remind us what true death metal is all about.


Ruinous consist of Alex Bouks, Shaun Eldridge and Matt Medeiros all of Funebrarum fame (as well as various others).  The pedigree they have on paper transfers brilliantly into nine tracks of furious death metal done with aplomb and thankfully some variety too.  There's a selection of some fine death doom alongside some grindcore and more old school sounding DM to boot.


Not afraid to throw in epic monuments such as "Through Stygian Catacombs" or behemoths like "Procession of Ceaseless Sorrows" alongside the smash and grab frenzy of "Transfixed on the Gate" or "Ravenous Eternal", Ruinous constantly shape shift like the monsters from our worst nightmares. One minute they are smothering the listener like some hellish cloak of wretched filth and the next they are stalking them like some huge beast crashing through a dark forest seeking it's prey.


Sonics stab and seep into the structures like marauding ghoulish shapes, twisting and contorting in the madness like tortured souls.  Production wise the sound is clear without ever losing the thick guitar sound or punishing fury of the drums.  The vocals reverberate around your eardrums like they are cavernous tombs suddenly transformed by Matt's lyrical delivery.


So here in November we have an unexpected early present and further testimony to the fact that year end lists (and I have seen some already on the web - pricks!) belong at the end of the year not mid fucking November!


Described as sitting "somewhere nicely between old and new school" on the Dark Descent BC page, Ruinous drop a gripping and sophisticated foray into true death metal with a seemingly effortless performance full of surety and total familiarity with the scope of the genre at large.






Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to stalk this  

  • Join Metal Forum


  • Our picks

    • I
      • Reputation Points

      • 1 reply
    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/52-vltimas-something-wicked-marches-in/
      • Reputation Points

      • 3 replies
    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/50-queensryche-the-verdict/
      • Reputation Points

      • 0 replies

    • https://www.metalforum.com/blogs/entry/48-candlemass-the-door-to-doom/
      • Reputation Points

      • 1 reply
    • Full length number 19 from overkill certainly makes a splash in the energy stakes, I mean there's some modern thrash bands that are a good two decades younger than Overkill who can only hope to achieve the levels of spunk that New Jersey's finest produce here.  That in itself is an achievement, for a band of Overkill's stature and reputation to be able to still sound relevant four decades into their career is no mean feat.  Even in the albums weaker moments it never gets redundant and the energy levels remain high.  There's a real sense of a band in a state of some renewed vigour, helped in no small part by the addition of Jason Bittner on drums.  The former Flotsam & Jetsam skinsman is nothing short of superb throughout "The Wings of War" and seems to have squeezed a little extra out of the rest of his peers.

      The album kicks of with a great build to opening track "Last Man Standing" and for the first 4 tracks of the album the Overkill crew stomp, bash and groove their way to a solid level of consistency.  The lead work is of particular note and Blitz sounds as sneery and scathing as ever.  The album is well produced and mixed too with all parts of the thrash machine audible as the five piece hammer away at your skull with the usual blend of chugging riffs and infectious anthems.  

      There are weak moments as mentioned but they are more a victim of how good the strong tracks are.  In it's own right "Distortion" is a solid enough - if not slightly varied a journey from the last offering - but it just doesn't stand up well against a "Bat Shit Crazy" or a "Head of a Pin".  As the album draws to a close you get the increasing impression that the last few tracks are rescued really by some great solos and stomping skin work which is a shame because trimming of a couple of tracks may have made this less obvious. 

      • Reputation Points

      • 3 replies