Drum Machines?

NTNR

There are times when bands use artificial means to create their music. Some do it in studio, some live and some do it for both. My question to you is do you think it's necessary for a band to have a drummer in this day and age? Personally I don't. Chances are you own one more more albums where the drummer is either a machine or a program. Bands like: Godflesh, Pitch Shifter, Vintersorg, Rigor Sardonicous, and others didn't and/or don't use drummers both live and in studio. What do you think?

I've been programming drums on my albums for eleven years now, so I better say yes... :D Drum programming is an amazing songwriting tool that can help take a lot of the guesswork and miscommunication out of collaborative projects, and even guys like Chuck Schuldiner, who always had top-notch drummers working with him, would program drums for his demo tracks. On recordings it's a bit trickier. If you're going for an artificial aesthetic (like Godflesh or Gigantic Brain or Agoraphobic Nosebleed), great. If you're trying to fool people into believing you have a real drummer, or just trying to get a good sound that isn't overtly fake, then you've got a lot more work to do to humanize your drum tracks. EZ Drummer and Superior Drummer have made this a bit easier than it used to be, but I still hear tons of programmed drum tracks where every hihat hit is the same, every cymbal crash, etc. - and even when people pay attention to their velocities and timing issues, I personally dislike the slick, overly clear, top-end heavy drum sound. The cymbals usually give up the game. I've been using Fruity Loops since I started recording "seriously" in college, and it's clunky and cumbersome, but it lets me do what I want. I have something like 67 separate sample hits comprising a five-piece kit and six different cymbals, most of which I've taken myself from recordings I've personally done for my own bands, or from other bands whose drummers have given me permission to sample